Reviews

9.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.7
Comfort
9.4
Property location
9.3
Facilities
9.4
Staff
9.5
Value
9.1

Reviews

    Greg
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    15 May 2018

    A lovely, quiet but rather odd room.

    The very nice private bathroom was on the floor below our room, accessible by a steep spiral staircase. It worked for us but anyone with mobility issues or young children would have problems. Also, no AC. We were fine in mid-May but the late afternoons might be uncomfortable in summer.
    Even though the Villa Fritz is on a pretty busy road our room was very quiet and peaceful. Beautiful old furnishings.
    Shuangmin
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    24 March 2018

    excellent stay

    very very good. I love it. provide very private space
    Catalin
    ro

    Review score

    5.0
    9 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Vlad Corduneanu
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    5 March 2018

    Fantastic place

    It was almost perfect. The only disadvantage was that it was not quite centrally situated, but the location was quite nice anyway.
    Fantastic facilities Loved the style of the interior Very clean bathroom and kitchen Nice staff
    Stefan
    de

    Review score

    10
    10 January 2018

    Perfect accommodation, really pleasant atmosphere and staff! Could not be better!

    Helen
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    3 November 2017

    A great Guesthouse which is conveniently situated

    I like this Guest House very much, just the parking can be a bit tricky. We got lucky at the beginning but then had to park in a side road which wasn’t always so easy.
    Lovely room (we have stayed here before) although the spiral staircase down to the kitchen and bathroom has a narrow tread so tricky for my large feet. Location is great, a short walk to the Dutch quarter. Warm rooms with individual style.
    Shaun
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    5 September 2017

    Ideal position to see and visit most parts of the city, tram stop outside.

    No kettle in the room!
    Nice atmosphere, large room. tastefully decorated. Complimentary wine and water, tea and coffee.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    4 August 2017

    Highly recommended accommodation

    Critique on a very high level: The bed linen and quilt (too heavy) and pillows
    The bathroom, four-poster bed + super matress, Netflix, balcony, carpets
    Timothy
    gb

    Review score

    10
    10 July 2017

    Wonderful stay

    Nothing
    Apartment was spacious, decorated in a wonderful period style and had a quirky spiral staircase down to the bathroom and kitchen, all well appointed. Not too far from the town center and a bakery close by for breakfast.
    Jan
    cz

    Review score

    10
    24 May 2017

    Stay in a castle

    No any unpleasant feeling at all.
    Really a unique stay - Villa Fritz gives you experience of living in a castle. All the up-to-date comfort offered by standard high-star hotels is provided, of course, but you get something more - feeling of a tradition and history. Moreover, the staff is extraordinary friendly and helpful.
    anton
    ua

    Review score

    7.5
    10 May 2017
    A service attitude. , street noise(rooms are facing road with trams)
    A specious apartment, huge bed, nice kitchen(in the room). Close to central part and to parks
    Christine
    gb

    Review score

    10
    28 March 2017

    Fabulous stay! Would certainly book again

    Vadivelu
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    15 January 2017

    Very nice period property with easy access by Tram

    No daily room service to stock toiletries etc.
    Very nice period property with easy access to Podsdam, clean and quiet
    Helen
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    7 November 2016

    Great place to stay - comfortable and spacious

    Only a few minor niggles.. Apartment Fritz has a 'Kamin' which to me means 'woodburner' in English but in reality it was an electric coal-effect fire so rather disappointing. When showering over the bath the panel screen was way too small so water goes all over the floor and then runs under the door into the kitchen area and can be slippery. The dishwasher was noisy when we set it off just before we went to bed and went on for over an hour and a half making various noises and of course there is no door between the kitchen and the main bedroom, just the staircase (which was very slightly wobbly and which I almost fell down on the first night). As mentioned in the 'good' section, there were just two rings and no oven. Manageable but not ideal. There were enough glasses, plates, cups etc. There was an all-in-one kettle, coffee maker and toaster but we could only get the toaster to work if we held the button down the whole time; this was not the end of the world but a bit annoying! As mentioned above, these are minor niggles and I would gladly book the same apartment again.
    The decoration of this room (Apartment Fritz) made it stand out compared to bland hotel rooms and the whole apartment was very spacious. The large bed was really comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped (although with no oven and only two hob rings we couldn't cook everything we might have wanted to). We didn't use the second pull-down bed so no idea how that was. The television in the main bedroom was of good quality and there was also a small TV in the dining area. The wifi functioned well. The main bedroom (actually on the ground floor) had shutters to keep out the light although the downstairs kitchen/bathroom/second bed did not have shutters so light might have been a problem. The soundproofing in the room was good with the windows closed - a good thing as the trams run directly outside. There was free parking outside the Guest House and in the surrounding roads. We used the tram once we got there - number 93 went from directly outside the apartment to the Potsdam Hauptbahnhof and was ideal. We had a lovely walk in the park and then to the Glienicke Bridge but apart from that didn't explore the local area much, we went into Berlin. We did have an excellent Italian meal at Cappuccino in the Dutch Quarter though! We found the apartment very good value for money and had a comfortable and relaxing stay.
    au

    Review score

    6.7
    28 September 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lynette
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    25 September 2016

    Beautiful apartment in Potsdam close to transport

    Lovely apartment easy to find with nearby conveniences and close to trams
    George
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    15 September 2016

    A period piece (1805) stay

    They are probably not allowed a proper sign, so the Villa Fritz exists pretty much incognito. I had previously located it precisely on a map, but even so overshot by a few metres. Also please note their comment that "guests staying more than four nights can have their room cleaned": In other words,for shorter stays you are left to your own devices - make your own bed. And, of course, no breakfast, so go lakeside to the marina, where you can start the day at a prima location.
    Villa Fritz was built in 1805 and dedicated to the memory of Der Alte Fritz (Frederick the Great), whose famous portrait is reverently laid out in a huge book in the entrance hall. Our room had a high ceiling, with a massive chandelier delicately poised to unman me. We slept with history. 10 minutes walk from either lakeside or olde towne eating: and 20 minutes from the Glienecke bridge, where cold war spies were exchanged. Sans Souci, Cecilienhof (1945 peace conference), and spectacular old town also nearby, so lots to see.
    ro

    Review score

    10
    15 September 2016
    Great location
    Amit
    de

    Review score

    7.5
    3 November 2017

    Nice option, a bit off center, but pleasant

    A bit noisy, due to ventilation, but bearable
    Made with good intentions
    Birgit
    us

    Review score

    10
    8 July 2017

    Great place for Potsdam explorers

    There's a coffee machine in the hall, and it would have been nice to have instructions in the room, rather than in a dark corner behind the machine where you could barely read it. I would have enjoyed a writing desk in the room ( but it probably wouldn't fit).
    Villa Fritz was the perfect place for my stay, I didn't want to spend too much money on accommodation, came to explore the town, the historical sites, and found everything within walking distance. Also, very close, beautiful parks and lakes where you can hike and get some rest. Very friendly staff, explained everything I needed to know on arrival, (TV in the room, transportation, location of nearby cafe and store) I came to Potsdam especially to attend a literary event, and they helped me find the location.
Loading reviews